Cruise drinks: what you can bring, and is the package worth it?
Most lines let you carry a bottle or two of wine or Prosecco on at embarkation (in your hand baggage) but ban spirits and beer, and alcohol you buy in port is usually held until the end of the cruise. Rules and prices change often, so check your line’s own page before you sail.
Rules by cruise line
“unconfirmed” means we couldn’t find it on the line’s official pages. to re-check marks rows with a low-confidence figure. Prices are per person per day (pppd) in the currency the line publishes.
| Line | Own wine/Prosecco at embarkation | Corkage | Spirits & beer | Port & shop purchases | Cheapest drinks package | Drinking age | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| P&O Cruises | Yes 1 litre total of wine/Champagne (first embarkation only)per guest aged 18+ (21+ in US ports) | £20 per bottle per occasion in restaurants, bars and lounges; free in cabin | Not allowed | Yes - declared at gangway, stored and returned before end of cruise, free; onboard duty-free stored until end | £55.00 pppd No extra service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Cunard | Yes 1 bottle, max 750mlper guest aged 18+ (21+ in US waters) | US$25 per bottle in restaurants and bars | Not allowed | Yes - duty-free delivered to stateroom on last day; port purchases stored (official wording on port alcohol: unconfirmed) | US$76.50 pppd No extra service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Marella Cruises (TUI)to re-check | No own wine | n/a | Not allowed | Yes - held and returned on departure; alcohol bought on your TUI flight is allowed with proof of purchase | Included in fare Service charge: unconfirmed | 18 | Source 2 3 4Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Fred. Olsento re-check | No own wine | Not available (no corkage service) | Not allowed | Yes - handed to security and returned at the end of the cruise (conduct policy: held until the last night) | £40.00 pppd No extra service charge | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Ambassador Cruise Line | No own wine | n/a | Not allowed | Yes - hand to Security when rejoining the ship; returned on disembarkation. Alcohol found at embarkation is confiscated and stored until end of cruise | £42.95 pppd Service charge: unconfirmed · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Saga Cruisesto re-check | unconfirmed | unconfirmed | unconfirmed | unconfirmed | Included in fare No extra service charge | unconfirmed | Source 2Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Royal Caribbeanto re-check | Yes 1 sealed 750ml bottle of wine/Champagne (embarkation day; one per sailing on back-to-backs). No boxed wineper guest of legal drinking age | US$15 per bottle in public venues | Not allowed | Yes - stored and returned on last day (also extra bottles and onboard-shop purchases) | unconfirmed (prices vary by sailing) +18% service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Celebrity Cruisesto re-check | Yes 1 x 750ml bottle in carry-onper guest of legal drinking age | US$35 per bottle; waived with Classic or Premium package | Not allowed | Yes - stored until end of cruise (official FAQ) | unconfirmed (prices vary by sailing) +20% service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Princess Cruises | Yes 1 x 750ml bottle per voyage (corkage-free in stateroom); extra bottles allowed but charged corkageper adult (of drinking age) | US$20 per bottle in public areas; every additional bottle US$20 wherever consumed | Not allowed | Yes - collected at gangway/shop and delivered to stateroom on last day | £53.00 pppd No extra service charge · not every adult has to buy | 18 | Source 2Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Carnival Cruise Line (UK guests) | Yes 1 sealed 750ml bottle in hand luggage, embarkation dayper guest aged 21+ | US$15 per 750ml bottle in main dining room, steakhouse or bar | Not allowed | Yes - retained until end of voyage (port and ship-shop purchases) | US$69.95 pppd +20% service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 21 | Source 2Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| MSC Cruisesto re-check | No own wine | unconfirmed | Not allowed | Stored (conduct policy says alcohol brought on board is confiscated or stored); return timing unconfirmed | unconfirmed (prices vary by sailing) No extra service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)to re-check | Yes No number limit stated; sealed wine/Champagne only, no boxed wineper guest (not specified) | US$15 per 750ml, US$30 per 1.5L magnum - charged even in stateroom; waived with any beverage package or Free at Sea | Not allowed | Yes - stored and available for pickup on final night or morning of debarkation | US$45.00 pppd +20% service charge | 21 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Virgin Voyages | Yes 2 sealed 750ml bottles of wine, sparkling wine or Champagne, in carry-on, embarkation dayper cabin (regardless of occupancy) | US$25 per bottle in eateries/bars (can be paid from Bar Tab) | Not allowed | Yes - hand to security; held and returned on final night (ticket contract) | unconfirmed (prices vary by sailing) Service charge: unconfirmed | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Costa Cruises | No own wine | n/a (no own-wine allowance) | Not allowed | Yes - held by Costa until end of voyage | £20.00 pppd Service charge: unconfirmed · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Holland America Line | Yes Bottles 750ml or less; no fixed number ('limits apply', excessive quantities refused)not specified | US$20 per bottle (one bottle per person exempt if bought on a HAL winery shore excursion) | Not allowed | Yes - surrendered for safekeeping, delivered to stateroom shortly before disembarkation | US$55.95 pppd +20% service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 18 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
| Viking Ocean Cruises | Yes No limit - personal beverages may be brought without restriction, including port purchasesn/a | None | Allowed | No - you can bring port purchases aboard and drink them anywhere, including restaurants | US$27.00 pppd No extra service charge · all adults in the cabin must buy | 21 | Source 2 3Checked 20 Oct 2026 |
Notes and caveats for each line
- P&O Cruises
- Classic package £55 pppd for 5-14 nights, £50 for 15+ nights (official page; packages only on cruises of 5+ nights). Deluxe £65/£60. Pre-cruise price unconfirmed (search snippets suggest about £49; the official page mentions a 10% pre-cruise discount). All 18+ guests in the cabin must buy the same package (official FAQ via search snippet). No separate gratuity on the package (secondary source) - unconfirmed. Ages 16-17 may drink beer, cider or wine with a meal with a parent present.
- Cunard
- Beverage Collection (pre-booked, pppn): $94.50 for 1-6 nights, $76.50 for 7-14, $63 for 15-74, $49.50 for 75+. Onboard: $105/$85/$70/$55. Pre-booking saves 10%. Onboard currency is USD. Search snippet says service charge is included, all adults in the stateroom must buy, and there's a 15-alcoholic-drinks-per-24h cap (T&C page returned 404) - unconfirmed. Spanish IVA of 10% applies in Spanish waters.
- Marella Cruises (TUI)
- All Inclusive as standard: selected beer and cider, wine by the glass, spirits and cocktails. Champagne isn't included. Premium drinks upgrade exists (official), but the price isn't published officially; secondary sources say about £12-14 pppn (unconfirmed). Drinking age is 21 in US waters. The all-inclusive hours of 10am-2am come from a secondary source.
- Fred. Olsen
- Premium Drinks Package, advance price pppn: £44 for 1-5 nights, £40 for 6-27, £36 for 28-69, £32 for 70+; £4 more onboard. Freedom Fare includes house beer and wine by the glass with lunch and dinner only. Whether all cabin guests must buy is unconfirmed (not stated on the official page). Gratuities included in fare (secondary). No duty-free on British Isles cruises. Soft drinks may be brought.
- Ambassador Cruise Line
- Classic package for 5-29 nights: £42.95 pppn pre-cruise, £47.95 onboard. Premium: £49.95/£55.95. 30-69 nights Classic: £37.95 pre-cruise. Cruises of 2-4 nights are priced per cruise. All cabin occupants must buy the same package for the whole cruise. Up to 12 cans or small bottles of soft drinks may be brought per cabin (not for public areas). Automatic service charge is £7 pppn (£6 on 16+ nights); whether extra applies on the package is unconfirmed. Onboard currency is GBP.
- Saga Cruises
- Drinks included in every bar, lounge and restaurant: cocktails, house red/white/rosé/sparkling wine, draught beer and lager, a selection of premium brand spirits, and soft drinks. Premium wines cost extra. The official FAQ doesn't state a bring-your-own policy - unconfirmed. Saga ocean cruises are for guests aged 50+ (travel companions 40+).
- Royal Caribbean
- Deluxe Beverage Package price is dynamic per sailing and not published - unconfirmed (secondary sources: about £68-75 pppd on UK sailings before gratuity). 18% gratuity added. Must be bought for the full voyage for ALL guests of legal drinking age in the stateroom. Age is 18 on sailings from Europe and 21 from North America. Seized items are returned at the end only if in original sealed packaging.
- Celebrity Cruises
- Classic covers drinks up to $12 ($14 on UK and Australia sailings); Premium up to $19 ($23 UK/AUS). Per-day price isn't published (varies) - unconfirmed; secondary sources say about £68-82 pppd before gratuity. 20% gratuity added. All drinking-age guests in the stateroom must buy; exceptions get a Zero Proof package. Not sold on 2-3-night Southampton sailings. Classic-to-Premium upgrade: $20 + 20% pppd. Age is 18 in Europe and 21 in North America. Daily crew gratuities are $19.50.
- Princess Cruises
- Princess Plus is a bundle (drinks up to $15 each, max 15 drinks per day, Wi-Fi, 4 casual meals, crew appreciation): £53 pppd pre-cruise (£58 on Sun/Star Princess). Premier is £78/£83. Onboard or within 96 hours of sailing costs $5 more pppd. Bar service charges are included. Packages apply to guests 1 and 2 on the booking; guests 3 and 4 aren't required to buy. Age 18 from Europe, 21 from North America, 20 in Japan. Alcohol outside policy is discarded. Onboard currency is USD. Spanish IVA of 7% in Spanish ports (official page).
- Carnival Cruise Line (UK guests)
- CHEERS! is $69.95 pppd pre-cruise, $74.95 onboard, plus 20% service charge (about $83.94 pre-cruise). Bought for the whole voyage; every adult in the stateroom must buy it; max 15 alcoholic drinks per 24h. Up to 12 sealed cans or cartons of soft drinks per person in hand luggage. Drinking age is 21 even in Europe. Onboard account is in USD.
- MSC Cruises
- Packages: Easy (onboard only, per official T&Cs), Easy Plus (drinks up to €9), Premium Extra (up to €14) and Alcohol-Free. Prices are only shown in My MSC - unconfirmed (secondary: Easy about £34-37 pppd). Beverage gratuities are included. ALL guests in the cabin must buy the same package; minors need the Minors Package. Max 15 alcoholic drinks per day. Packages are priced per day except disembarkation day. Drinking age is 18 on European sailings (21 in North America - unconfirmed). Corkage rules unconfirmed.
- Norwegian Cruise Line (NCL)
- Official FAQ says Unlimited Open Bar can be bought onboard in the first two days for $45 pppd + 20% gratuity + taxes. But secondary sources quote about $109 pppd, so the $45 figure may be stale - verify before publishing. Free at Sea promotions bundle the package but carry a daily service charge (secondary: $28.50). Whether all adults must buy, and age on European sailings, are unconfirmed (21 is NCL's standard; 18 on some international sailings is unconfirmed).
- Virgin Voyages
- No unlimited drinks package. Bar Tab is prepaid onboard credit (amounts and bonuses vary, often promotional). Water, sodas, drip coffee and non-pressed juice are free. Gratuities are included in the fare (Virgin brand policy - unconfirmed for drinks). Adults-only (18+); drinking age 18 in international waters, 21 in US waters and on Alaska sailings (via search snippet). Spirits and beer can't be brought (Virgin prohibited items list, via search - medium).
- Costa Cruises
- My Drinks costs £20-£36 pppd when bought online with the cruise, or £42 pppd onboard (varies by sailing). My Drinks Plus costs £57 onboard (included in Suites). The package must be bought by all guests on the same booking or cabin; ages 3-17 get a non-alcoholic version. Not valid in Archipelago and Casanova restaurants. Whether a gratuity or service % is added is unconfirmed. Promotional and 'My Cruise' fares don't include drinks.
- Holland America Line
- Signature package (drinks up to $12, 15 drinks per day) costs US$55.95 pppd + 20% service charge. Elite is $60.95; Have It All is $65. All adults of legal drinking age in the stateroom must buy. Soda, energy drinks and plastic water bottles can't be brought; water allowance is 6L per stateroom. Drinking age is 'legal drinking age for the itinerary' (US page says 21+; 18 on European itineraries - unconfirmed).
- Viking Ocean Cruises
- ALL-INCLUSIVE NOTE: house beer, wine and soft drinks are complimentary with onboard lunch and dinner only. Silver Spirits package costs US$27 pppd (15% service charge already included) and covers drinks up to $18 all day. Both guests in a stateroom must buy it for the full cruise. US site says you must be 21+ to buy or drink alcohol. GBP price for UK bookings is unconfirmed.
Is the drinks package worth it?
Pick your line, then tell us what you’d really drink in a day. We only prefill bar prices that the line publishes itself (Carnival and Ambassador); for the others, take typical prices from the line’s bar menu.
Worked example: Carnival Cruise Line, 7 nights, 2 adults
Package: US$69.95 pppd + 20% service charge × 7 nights × 2 adults = US$1175.16.
Pay as you go, each drinking 2 beers, 2 glasses of wine and 2 cocktails a day at Carnival’s published “from” prices (US$6.50, US$9.50, US$10.50) + 20% = US$890.40.
Break-even: about 7.9 drinks a day each. At 6 a day, paying as you go is cheaper, but “from” prices are the cheapest on the menu, and soft drinks and coffee would add to the bill.
This is an estimate, not a quote. Packages often cap drinks per day or by price, exclude some venues, and require every adult in the cabin to buy one.